Do All Writers Have a Dark Side?

Image

Stop Talking to ME!” says the orangutan as she works on a passionate love scene.

If you’re a writer, chances are you have a reputation. Whether the genre is romance, horror, historical, contemporary – there is often a stigma attached to the person behind the writer.

  • Socially awkward
  • Introverted
  • Eccentric

*And there are other less than kind descriptions I’ll avoid here.

But is this true? To be a writer, do we have to have a ‘dark’ side?

Well, I do. I’ll admit it here – life can overwhelm me. The noise, the activity, the constant and multiple pulls on my sensitive, creative mind can leave me scattered, uncertain, and agitated.

The further into one of my stories I dive and the more fully I enter my character’s world, the harder it is to reenter the real world. This is when my ‘dark’ side comes out. The transition from my world of make believe (yes, I write fiction…mostly paranormal at that), into the cold, hard reality can be very difficult.

It’s not just like going from gear 1 to gear 2. It’s going from the slow, quiet, calm gear 1 to roaring down the Autobahn at 100 mph. Well, that’s how it feels.

And how does my ‘dark’ side manifest itself? I lash out at those around me, don’t talk to my husband, forget things, refuse to think about chores, feel my blood pressure sky rocket.

It can be like walking into Times Square the moment you awaken from a coma.

After a period of time I am able to fully enter reality and settle into my ‘normal’ self. And thank goodness for that otherwise I’d have no husband and no friends.

For writers, do we have to pull completely and totally out of reality in order to create fiction? And when we are forced to reenter reality, how do we handle it?

Or, is it only a subset of writers who, like me, meet all the criteria listed above? Are there writers out there who are extroverted, social and make the switch from writing to living with effortless ease?

If the latter is you, I could use some tips!

Cheers!

About TracyHewittMeyer

I love to write...anything and everything...aross genres and back again.
This entry was posted in Author, Genre, Personalities, Write In Style, Writer Personality Types, Writing, Writing Process. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do All Writers Have a Dark Side?

  1. M.S. Fowle says:

    I wish I could say that I am “the latter”, but I’m so not. I’m quite the introvert (except around my friends and co-workers, i.e. people who know me well), I don’t particularly enjoy socializing (being cozy at home with my two favorite boys is preferred), and it takes me a bit to convert back to the “normalcy” of living with work and the like.
    Haha! I wish I could be of more help to you, but good luck. And thanks for sharing this!

  2. I’m definitely an introvert, and I have to FORCE myself to socialize. I’m always up foran outdoor adventure–with my family, or a night out–with my family, or a party–with my family. Start adding others, and my stress leveles rise. Wish I were aflutter with “So great to see you…” but I’m the one who cringes when I run into someone unexpectedly. Tracy, we’re more alike than different, and it may be a writers’ trait.

Leave a Reply

