What’s Next?

Now that Wren’s Fantasy is out in the stratosphere, awaiting readers and reviews, what’s next on my agenda?

After a contemporary adult romance and a paranormal/fantasy adult romance, I have dived into the young adult voice. What lead me to that change? Oh, I also switched it up to first person, which now I love!!

So, last November, I tried my hand at NaNoWriMo. If you’re not familiar with this, November is National Novel Writing Month when you, and thousands of other established or novice writers, take the entire month to write a novel of at least 40,000 words. There is a super website devoted to helping you keep track of your progress and network with others for support, encouragement, advice, etc. Here’s the link: http://www.nanowrimo.org/

So, last NaNoWriMo, I started a new novel after completion of Wren’s Fantasy. Part way through my 3,000 words/day, I realized I was re-writing Wren’s Fantasy. What? you demand. Re-writing the same novel? Yes! I gasp. I was! I couldn’t believe it either. Of course I’d changed settings, characters, plot points; but in the end, the story was traveling the same trajectory as my already written novel. Buggers. I needed a change.

So, change I did. I switched the voice to first person from third and I changed the tone to young adult. Then the story flew, literally flew!, onto the page. I had found a passion in this new voice.

What is this story about? It’s called Anhelina, the Last Avenging Angel. It’s a working title but I love it. The story is about a 17 year old track star in rural Appalachia who agrees to marry the owner of the local coal mine where her father works. Why would she agree to marry an older man, when she, herself, was of such tender age? To save her mother, who is dying of lung cancer. John, the mine owner, vows to pay all of the medical bills.

But, on the night she sneaks out of her home to meet this fiance, she realizes he is not just an older man eager for a younger bride. When he touches her neck with fire spewing from his fingertips, she realizes that he is evil and she dashes off into the surrounding forest. Right before he catches her, she falls.

And lands in Medieval England!

Oh no! you say. Yes! I say. And it’s here she meets her dashing prince, or in this case, Lord, Sander Seville, a guy her age who, by the death of his parents, inherits a vast estate.

So, what about the evil fiance back in a different time in a different place? Turns out he has a dirty little secret. But guess what, I’m not going to say what it is!

And I’m also not going to say what happens. Let’s just say that our little Anhelina, with the shining nearly white hair, clear blue eyes and pale skin, discovers a whole ocean full of history, part Bible story, part fairy tale, that has led to her being in this place, in this time.

She also discovers that her destiny lies not in the upcoming track meet but in battling her evil fiance, all while falling in love for the first time.

So, that’s what is next for me in my writing life. I love this novel, much like I love Wren’s Fantasy. They are very different (thank goodness!) but very much written from that point in my mind (and heart) where stories that I, myself, would love to read, are created.

Cheers! Tracy

About TracyHewittMeyer

I love to write...anything and everything...aross genres and back again.
This entry was posted in Author, Characters, Genre, NaNoWriMo, Romance, Voice, Wren's Fantasy, Writing, Young Adult and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s Next?

  1. jannashay says:

    Great post. Anhelina, The Last Avenging Angel sounds fascinating. Can’t wait to read it. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

