One Year In And Still Going Strong

On October 12, 2011, my first work of fiction was published by Soul Mate Publishing. Trust of the Heart is a contemporary romance novella that is, simply, a sweet (and sensual!) love story. It’s about trusting your heart when your head may tell you something very different.

On my road to publication, I trusted my heart while my head told me several reasons why I’d never be able to do it. My head told me:

  • That I don’t have the time to devote to writing. How I countered this nagging voice was to awaken between 4:00 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. I worked on the weekends when my husband could watch the kids. Laundry fell by the wayside. The house was in a continuous state of dirtiness. But still I pushed on. I created that time to write. I didn’t allow any other option.
  • That I don’t have the talent. This was far more difficult to overcome. Insecurity, lack of confidence, and fear are terrible demons to battle. And becoming a published author is not an overnight achievement. Years (and years!) of hard work and dedication are what it takes to become published. It is not for the faint-of-heart nor the thin-skinned. I overcame this insecurity by, really, not overcoming it. I just ignore it. I want to write so badly that I’m not going to let my insecurities keep me from doing what I want to do. I know if I put the hard work into creating unique stories, alluring characters and interesting plots, I’ll remain a published author for years to come. Regardless of what my head tells me!
  • That I’m just a romance writer. I don’t really give this credit anymore, but for those of you aspiring romance writers out there, you’ll find that you can hit a wall of criticism. ‘Oh, you write stuff like Fifty Shades of Grey?’ Or, when talking about your writing to a third party, ‘She writes smut’, and the person will laugh. Or, ‘I don’t really read those kinds of books.’ Don’t allow people’s comments make you feel that writing a romance is any less of a brilliant work of fiction than any other genre. Stories pull people in, create an escape, leave them changed in some way. Whether it’s Faulkner or Meyer, we tell stories. Period. I don’t write stories like Faulkner (duh), but not everyone likes his type of stories. (Btw, I love Faulkner!)

Since Trust of the Heart’s publication, I have since had a full-length paranormal romance, titled, Wren’s Fantasy, published through Soul Mate Publishing. This was another huge milestone for me. I could write the novella, but I could I write a read-worthy full-length novel?

The answer was ‘yes’. I could do it. I did do it. And now I’m working on another full-length novel. This one is a young adult contemporary romance. I’m playing with point-of-view, genre, style; but I’m writing. I’m always moving forward and I’m not letting anything hold me back. Not the laundry. Not the children. Not the nagging voice that can crush my dreams with its whip-like sting.

Carry on, yon writers, and your dreams will come true. Just like mine did.

Bonne chance! Tracy

About TracyHewittMeyer

I love to write...anything and everything...aross genres and back again.
This entry was posted in Author, blog, Characters, Children, Creative Process, Dreams, Genre, Life, Paranormal, Romance, Trust of the Heart, Uncategorized, Wren's Fantasy, Write In Style, Writing, Writing Process and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Year In And Still Going Strong

  1. jannashay says:

    Great post. So glad you didn’t listen to the thoughts swirling around in your head. Trust of the Heart is a fantastic read and Wren’s Fantasy sounds fascinating. It’s on my TBR list.
    Good luck with your writing.

Leave a Reply

