My Next Big Thing…

Dear friend, fellow author and fantastic story-teller, Marion Croslydon, has invited me to share details of My Next Big Thing, aka, What I’m Working On! I’m in the final stages of editing, A Life, Redefined, and therefore, this is a perfect time to talk about it!

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Hmm, that’s a difficult question. There was no one moment when the idea ‘popped!’ into my head and the lightbulb went off. But several things happened that led me to the point of creating the outline for a new novel: I had finished writing my first young adult paranormal novel and didn’t like it; I wanted to veer back into contemporary, out of the fantasy world of paranormal; I felt the time was right (as television is flooded with Appalachian folk) to write about this area where I was raised. (Let me just say here, though, that the book is 110% fiction.)

When these things happened, an outline unfolded and I had a seventeen year old heroine, named Rowan Slone, living in Appalachia, with a mother that resembles (in very distant ways) a certain reality television mom from Appalachia. I threw in a devastating event that happened when Rowan was ten; an event with lasting effects that are seen seven years later and still threaten to destroy, not only the family, but Rowan herself.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

The actress would be Kristen Stewart. I know, I know. She’s almost too ‘popular’ for who I’d want to portray my heroine. But she has the thin, lithe body that Rowan has. She also has the broody look that Rowan, after years of struggle, has. Subtle dark circles would be ever present under her eyes. And she’d have to always wear long sleeves and a hoodie, because Rowan has a secret and she can never expose her arms. Can you guess what that secret is? Many teenage girls suffer with this issue.

As for my hero, Mike Anderson, he would be played by Liam Hemsworth, if he can get away with playing a high school senior. He is a football player, quite a bit taller than Rowan, and so darned cute I can’t stand it!

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Good question! I’d like to know that little answer myself. I have yet to dive into the world of self-publishing, but I find it fascinating and the opportunities limitless, if you’re willing to put in the hard work. That being said, I’ve had wonderful experience with my current publisher and would always, always consider the smaller e-press route. And, of course, I wouldn’t say ‘no’ to an agent and a big NY publishing house. 🙂 Time will tell!

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

I’d say it has taken around two months, and even though it’s ‘finished’, I realize I need to take more time with the ending to really flush out some points. This novel has, literally, flown off my fingertips, though. Is that good or bad? I don’t know. But I’m editing now. It is the fastest I’ve ever written a novel, so I’m getting faster, more mentally organized, and more effective at writing.

What other books would you compare this story to within the genre?

This is going to be a funny answer but what I read is often different from what I write. And sometimes that can be on purpose. I like to keep my mind fresh and limitless. When I read something similar to what I’m writing, it’s harder to pull my mind away from the outside story that so enraptured me and return to  my own story. So, I’m going to graciously not answer this question. 🙂 Is that my right as an author? If not, is it my right as a woman? LOL.

Before I tag fellow authors so they can take the reins and write about their Next Big Thing, I’d like to take a moment to thank Marion. She has become, not only a writing partner in crime, but a truly dear friend. She has a beautiful spirit, and I so cherish the time that she, Juliette Sobanet, and I had together at RWA Nationals two years ago. Great times, my friends. Great times!

Find Oxford Whispers, the first book in The Oxford Trilogy, here:http://www.amazon.com/Oxford-Whispers-ebook/dp/B0091UKP0K/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1352638519&sr=8-2&keywords=Oxford+Whispers

Now. Here are the ultra-talented authors who are going to discuss their Next Big Thing. Be sure to check in with them because I’ve read published works by these authors and they are experts at their craft!

Meggan Connors is the author of The Marker, available now.

Ann Montclair is the author of several books: Good Things Come in Tall Packages; One Wet Summer; and The Billionaire’s Bauble. All are available now.

Cheers! Tracy

 

 

 

About TracyHewittMeyer

I love to write...anything and everything...aross genres and back again.
This entry was posted in Author, Creative Process, Romance, Story development, The Next Big Thing, Uncategorized, Write In Style, Writing, Writing Process, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

