The Perfect Combination of Island and Novel

As I sit on the screened-in porch of a beach house rental in Pawleys Island, SC, I can’t help but think about the beauty that surrounds me. It is raining and has been for a while. The drops create a soft pitter-patter against the grass with the roar of the ocean’s waves providing volumes of background music.

My family has been coming from near and far for the past 30+ years to this quiet, peaceful island, nestled between the busier tourist destinations of Georgetown and Myrtle Beach. This is where we reconnect with older family members, meet newer ones, kiss soft, sweet newborn cheeks. Pawleys Island is a jewel of serenity and my spirit calms whenever I visit.

This particular visit has been even more meaningful because I am preparing for the release-June 25-of A Life, Redefined, my new Young Adult (YA) novel. I have sat in the corner of this screened-in porch, being serenaded by a hearty barrage of local bird-life, on my computer, making last minute preparations.

And I feel so good.

Is it the island air? The upcoming release of a novel that I poured my soul into?

It’s both, and then some.

A Life, Redefined is my first self-published novel and I have thoroughly enjoyed each step of this process. It hasn’t always been easy, though. In fact, I’ve wanted to try self-publishing for a while, but have always been afraid. Diving into unchartered territory is daunting to say the least.

But I’ve managed to surround myself with amazing support-friends, acquaintances, family ready to provide me with anything I need. Let me break this down:

First of all, the company doing my cover art is Blue Harvest Creative. Vern and Joni have been a pivotal discovery for me. Fellow writer, Sophie Moss, used them to create cover art for her bestselling Seal Island Trilogy. I loved the covers of the three books so much, I asked them to help me with A Life, Redefined.

They have far exceeded my expectations. My two previous works, Trust of the Heart and Wren’s Fantasy, were published by the fantastic folks at Soul Mate Publishing. Venturing into self-publishing, though, left me with many items on my to-do list that I didn’t have with the release of my other two works. Thank goodness for Vern and Joni. Not only did they find the perfect Rowan for the cover, but they have done countless other things that have left me breathless with excitement over this upcoming release.

I have also had wonderful writing friends like Juliette Sobanet, Marion Croslydon, Sophie Moss and Tara Lynn Mosby, all amazing spinners of incredible stories, cheer me on every step of the way. If it weren’t for their gentle guidance and strong words of encouragement, I’m not sure I would’ve made it this far.

I have been blessed with very supportive family and friends. Never underestimate the power of a kind word, an inquisitive question about a work-in-progress, a statement of encouragement. I try to live my life being kind, interested in others, supportive of their endeavors. I do this because the people I surround myself with do this for me. And it makes all the difference in the world.

It may seem odd to write about my vacation on Pawleys Island in the same post that I write about my upcoming release. But in a way it’s perfect. The people that have helped me along this self-publishing journey have supported and nurtured me. The island has provided the same for me and my family over the years, in its own way. And now, this week before the release, the final count down, so-to-speak, Pawleys Island is the perfect backdrop for me to watch it all unfold.

Cheers to June 25, 2013, and the release of A Life, Redefined. Cheers to everyone out there who has ever supported someone who is chasing their dreams. Cheers to Mother Nature and the beauty of Pawleys Island.

*Cover reveal for A Life, Redefined coming soon!! Release date: June 25, 2013; available as e-book and paperback. www.amazon.com. Check back for more details!!!

About TracyHewittMeyer

I love to write...anything and everything...aross genres and back again.
This entry was posted in Author, Characters, Dreams, Inspiration, Life, Redefined, Release Day, Uncategorized, Write In Style, Writing, Writing Process, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Perfect Combination of Island and Novel

  1. Blue Harvest Creative says:

    What a lovely blog, Tracy! We are so honored to be a part of your novel “A Life, Redefined.” Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to bring your vision to life. Your story is very powerful and we know it will touch the hearts of everyone who reads it. We wish you all the best 🙂

  2. Sophie Moss says:

    Pawleys Island sounds like a wonderful place to let the rest of the world fall away. I live for island escapes where you can turn off the cell phone, unplug from the internet, and just spend the day listening to the ocean and the wind. 🙂 So glad you decided to go with Blue Harvest Creative for your cover! They are an amazing team to work with. Thanks for your sweet comments about my Seal Island covers. Looking forward to meeting you in person next month at RWA!

Leave a Reply

