On Being an Introvert…and the Throat Chakra

If you read my last blog post, you learned that I was going to a writer’s retreat this past weekend and that I was a little nervous. By now you should know (if you’ve visited this blog before) that social situations can bring out the awkward side to my personality and that is an understatement. Since a weekend-long writer’s retreat is brimming with new people, chatting, pitching, and on and on-aka social situations-I desperately wanted to make sure I enjoyed the weekend and got the most out of it that I could.

And on that last blog, I wrote about the book The Guru in You and how it was helping me relax my mind and curb my negative thoughts. What I didn’t write about were the other steps I took to set myself up for success instead of leaving with crushing embarrassment and overwhelming self-doubt.

Did it work?

Yes! It did!

I had a wonderful weekend. I would even say it goes down as one of my best and most memorable. I met so many amazing people, I’m still amazed. And I think I made lasting friendships. At least I hope so!

And…I pitched my new novel to two agents. In preparing for the weekend, this was another concern/consideration. I didn’t want to pitch like a flake or a basket-case or in any way come across as a weird-o. Actually, I might have done those things anyway. Hey, pitching is a very nerve-wracking experience. Luckily for me I pitched to two pretty darned awesome people that helped me feel comfortable.

But, I had also come prepared.

Now, here is where I get to the point of this blog. Thank goodness, you say!

By now you may have checked out Cameron’s book. But what else did I do to set myself up for success? I researched the throat chakra and how to open and balance this chakra to enhance my ability to communicate, not only in a personal way (talking to new people) but also professionally (pitching).

Here are two good websites: http://bit.ly/1DyE7YP and http://bit.ly/1JqGfGG.

The throat chakra, and I quote, “… is the energy center located in the back of the throat which allows you to communicate your thoughts clearly and courageously. It is how you give life to your thoughts, feelings, values, truths, ideas, inspirations and insights and it relates to all forms of self-expression, not just the spoken word.” (How to Heal Your Throat Chakra)

I needed help with this so I did several things: worked on relaxing my throat, tongue, jaw and shoulders; practiced deep breathing; meditated to calm my mind. All wonderful things.

But I like physical reminders, too. And since I’m a jewelry-loving kinda gal, I went to our local metaphysical store and snagged this:

NecklaceforBlog

Not only is this throat chakra talisman beautiful, but it really did help ground and calm me. I rubbed it between my fingers or simply felt the weight of it against my skin.

And then I purchased these beauties from Ten Thousand Villages:

EaringsforBlog

The color associated with the throat chakra is blue, thus the earrings. They fit the bill and they’re lovely.

I can’t say that these practices and jewelry had the power to make or break my weekend, but I do know they helped. They helped me remain focused on relaxation and enjoyment. And since I can say that I had one of the best weekends, something was working!

I encourage you to research the chakras. If one of yours is out-of-balance, there are many simple ways to rebalance and get back on track. And, if nothing else, you learned a few new ways to take care of yourself.

Cheers! Tracy

About TracyHewittMeyer

I love to write...anything and everything...aross genres and back again.
This entry was posted in chakras, Coping, Introvert, pitching, throat chakra and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

